The 2019 recipients are as follows. Click on the recipient’s name to learn more.


Lifetime Achievement Award
Christilot Boylen

Gold Medal Award
Mark Samuel

Volunteer of the Year
Laurel Vaadeland

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy
Tina Irwin

Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
Sam Walker

Horse of a Lifetime – The Hickstead Trophy
Special Ed

Horse of the Year
2019 Owners: Tina & Jaimey Irwin

Owner of the Year
Peter Barry

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
Owner: Margaret, Robert & Simone Williams
Breeder: John Kmita

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere
Darlene Morton

Health & Welfare Award
Equine Guelph

EC would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2019 EC National Awards, including the many individuals who submitted nominations to support deserving individuals. Across the board, the quality of the nominations was extremely high for 2019, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers and supporters within the Canadian equestrian industry.

EC would also like to thank the Awards Committee for their time and effort in selecting the 2019 recipients, with support and input from EC stakeholders and experts. The 2019 EC Awards Committee is comprised of Carla Robin (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Mark Goldman, Peggy Hambly and Karen Sparks.

About the EC National Awards Program

The EC National Awards are presented annually to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community. For more information, visit

Questions? Comments?

Questions or comments regarding the 2019 EC National Awards can be directed to:

Carla Robin
EC Awards Committee Chair

– 30 –

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.