The three (3) candidates elected are (listed in alphabetical order):

Name Hometown
Melanie Biron Montreal, QC Elected for a three (3) year term
Dr. Wayne Burwash Calgary, AB Elected for a three (3) year term
Chris Lowe Vancouver, BC Elected for a three (3) year term

For further details on the election, visit The Nominating Committee will report on the election process and results, which will be presented during the 2021 EC Annual General Meeting and then made available on the EC website.

Biron and Lowe are joining the EC Board for the first time, while Burwash is a returning Director. They will join the following current Directors to round out the 2021-2022 EC Board:

Charles Cue – Aylesford, NS
Mark Goldman – La Minerve, QC
Robert Mitchell – Vancouver, BC
Doug Orr – Lethbridge, AB
Lisa Robertson – Regina, SK
Carla Robin – Langley, BC
Chris Sorensen – Caledon, ON

During the call for candidates, a total of 10 qualified applications were received by the close of the nomination period on May 19, 2021. Following an in-depth review of all candidates, the EC Nominating Committee put forward four (4) candidates to the ballot.

The 26 EC Voting Members cast their ballots between July 26 and July 30, 2021.

There were up to three (3) Director positions to be filled for 2021. As per Bylaw 4.2, d) Transition:

Commencing in 2019 and for every year thereafter unless changed in accordance with the By-laws and Act and subject to increase to fill any vacancies for the remainder of a term, the number of Directors to be elected shall be the number of Directors whose terms expire in the same year as the election.

For more information on the EC Board of Directors, visit

About the EC Nominating Committee

The EC Nominating Committee members are as follows:

Mark D. Goldman (Chair) – La Minerve, QC
Lisa Robertson (Board Observer) – Regina, SK
Jill Barton – Odessa, ON
Iris Davies – Dewberry, AB
Tegwyn Harper – Black Creek, BC
Fran McAvity – Vancouver, BC
Frederic Pierrestiger – St. Eustache, QC
David Whitford – Milton, ON

The Committee members are responsible for:

  • Presenting a slate of candidates for the position of EC Board Directors in accordance with EC’s Bylaws.
  • Ensuring there is an election each year.
  • Ensuring EC has a rigorous nomination system.
  • Recruiting qualified individuals as Directors.

Questions, Comments?

If you have any questions or comments concerning the 2021 EC Board of Directors election, please contact:

Meg Krueger
Chief Executive Officer

– 30 –

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.