The results are as follows (listed in alphabetical order):

Name / Hometown / Result
Charles Cue / Aylesford, NS / Elected for a three (3) year term
Meg Krueger / Mississauga, ON / Elected for a three (3) year term
Robert Mitchell / Vancouver, BC / Elected for a three (3) year term
Lisa Robertson / Regina, SK / Elected for a three (3) year term

For further details on the election, visit In addition, the Nominating Committee will compile a report regarding the election process and results, which will be presented during the 2020 EC Annual General Meeting and then made available on the EC website.

Robertson is joining the EC Board for the first time, while Cue, Krueger and Mitchell are returning Directors. They will join the following current Directors to round out the 2020-2021 EC Board:

Dr. Wayne Burwash – Calgary, AB
Craig Collins – Loretto, ON
Mark Goldman – La Minerve, QC
Robyn Kennedy – Guelph, ON
Jane Milton – Vancouver, BC
Doug Orr – Lethbridge, AB
Carla Robin – Langley, BC
Chris Sorensen – Caledon, ON

During the call for EC Board candidates, a total of nine qualified applications provided a nomination package by close of the nomination period on May 22, 2020. Following an in-depth review of all candidates, the EC Nominating Committee unanimously agreed to put forward six candidates to appear on the ballot.

The 27 EC Voting Members were invited to cast their ballots between July 27 and

July 31, 2020, to determine the successful candidates.

There were up to four (4) Director positions to be filled for 2020 As per Bylaw 4.2, d) Transition:

Commencing in 2019 and for every year thereafter unless changed in accordance with the By-laws and Act and subject to increase to fill any vacancies for the remainder of a term, the number of Directors to be elected shall be the number of Directors whose terms expire in the same year as the election.

  • Four (4) positions will be for a three (3) year term ending in 2023.

For more information on the EC Board of Directors, visit

About the EC Nominating Committee

The EC Nominating Committee members are as follows:

Wayne Burwash (Chair) – Calgary, AB
Winona Hartvikson – Langley, BC
Lisa Kavanagh-Ross – Ailsa Craig, ON
Jean Szkotnicki – Moffat, ON
David Whitford – Milton, ON
Frederic Pierrestiger – Saint-Eustache, QC
Fran McAvity – Vancouver, BC

The Committee members are responsible for:

  • Presenting a slate of candidates for the position of EC Board Directors in accordance with EC’s Bylaws.
  • Ensuring there is an election each year.
  • Ensuring EC has a rigorous nomination system.
  • Recruiting qualified individuals to stand for election as Directors.

Questions, Comments?

If you have any questions or comments concerning the 2020 EC Board of Directors election, please contact:

Yves Hamelin
Chief Executive Officer
Equestrian Canada
Toll free: 1-866-282-8395 x 135

– 30 –