The 2018 recipients are as follows. Click on the recipient’s name to learn more.


Lifetime Achievement Award
Harriet Cherry
Barbara Mitchell

Gold Medal Award
Ian Millar

Volunteer of the Year, Presented by Henry Equestrian
Jill Barton

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy / Junior Equestrian of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
Sam Walker

Horse of the Year
All In
Owners: Brittany Fraser-Beaulieu, Marc-Andre Beaulieu and Craig Fraser

Owner of the Year
Ann Matthews

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
WKM Xenia
Owner: Brennan McCullagh
Breeder: Wilf and Karen McKay / WKM Stables

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere
Estelle Motta

Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
Carley Sparks

EC would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2018 EC National Awards, including the many individuals who submitted nominations to support deserving individuals. Across the board, the quality of the nominations was extremely high for 2018, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers and supporters within the Canadian equestrian industry.

EC would also like to thank the Awards Committee for their time and effort in selecting the 2018 recipients, with support and input from EC stakeholders and experts. The 2019 EC Awards Committee is comprised of Carla Robin (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Michael Boyd, Peggy Hambly, Karen Sparks and Robyn Tremblay.

Award Presentations

Stay tuned for more information on the 2018 EC National Award presentations. Details coming soon!

About the EC National Awards Program

The EC National Awards are presented annually to celebrate the impressive achievements of individuals, equines and organizations who have contributed to the growth and success of the equestrian community. For more information, visit

Questions? Comments?

Questions or comments regarding the 2018 EC National Awards can be directed to:

Carla Robin
EC Awards Committee Chair

Jessie Christie
EC Senior Manager, Marketing & Communications

– 30 –

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.