EC would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2022 EC National Awards process, including the many individuals who submitted nominations to support deserving individuals. Across the board, the quality of the nominations was extremely high, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers, and supporters within the Canadian equestrian industry.

The 2022 recipients are as follows. Please click on each recipient’s name to learn more.

2022 EC National Award Recipients:

Lifetime Achievement Award
Cynthia Neale-Ishoy

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy
Kelly Houtappels-Bruder

Junior Equestrians of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy
Anna Swackhammer
Averill Saunders

Horse of the Year
Owner: Cawthra Burns

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year
Owner: Daniel Bluman & Kim Douglas
Breeder: Andrew Blais

Owner of the Year
Roberta Sheffield

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere
Canadream Farm – Marie-Josée Proulx

Coach of the Year
Sara Compton

Official of the Year
Colleen Hoffman

Volunteer of the Year
Kathleen Wilson

Media Award – The Susan Jane Anstey Trophy
Mark Spowart and Mette Holm

EC would also like to thank the Recognition and Awards Committee for their time and effort in selecting the recipients, with support and input from EC stakeholders and experts. The 2022 EC Awards Committee is comprised of Peggy Hambly (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Julie Brewster, Alison Martin, and Taylor McRae.

For more information, visit

Questions? Comments?

Questions or comments regarding the 2022 EC National Awards can be directed to:

Melanie McLearon
EC Staff Appointee to the Awards Committee

– 30 –

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.