Ottawa, ON, Feb. 14, 2023 – In recognition of the countless volunteer hours over many years that she has dedicated to the sport, the EC Jumping Committee has named Shirley Pederson Volunteer of the Year for 2022.

Pederson has been an EC Senior Steward over several decades, spending her time to clarify, update rules and develop teaching methods as well as deliver clinics and programs to EC community members. She has trained fellow stewards and served as the past chair of the Stewards’ Committee.

In her additional roles as a Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) Level 3 Jumping steward and Senior Dressage Steward, she has attended many championships. She has also served on the Jump Rules Committee and as a Zone Director for Horse Council BC.

Pederson’s parents knew she was a horse girl from the age of three when they regularly discovered her pretending that she was riding. Born into an Air Force family, she grew up riding in many places, trying out various styles. She was involved in Pony Club and 4-H but didn’t start competing until she was an adult.

Throughout her life she has ridden and been involved in jumping, dressage, eventing and breed sports and continues to ride regularly today. Pederson and her husband also bred Warmbloods on their farm in the Lower Mainland of British Columbia (BC). Then in 2014, they decided to sell their property.

Professionally, Pederson was called to the Bar in 1984. After a decade in commercial litigation, she became a prosecutor with an emphasis on information management in major criminal cases. She retired in 2021 from the Crown Counsel for the Government of BC.

“My volunteer work with the Jump Rules Committee results from enlightened self-interest,” she said. “As a steward, it benefits me if the rules are clear, of course, that benefits all of us in the horse show world.”

EC is very grateful to have a volunteer with such expertise, generosity and devotion to equestrian sport, and is pleased to recognize Pederson with the Jumping Volunteer of the Year Award for 2022. “I am pleased that EC has chosen to recognize my contributions,” the senior steward added.

Pederson joins a long list of distinguished JC Volunteer of the Year Award recipients, including Jeff Brandmaier (2021), Beth Underhill (2019), Craig Collins (2018), Mark Samuel (2017) and Marjorie Dennis (2016). For a complete list of award recipients, click here.

Celebrating a Steward’s Generosity of Expertise and Devotion to Equestrian Sport

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.